top of page
  • Writer's pictureN. Forbes Matheis

Confessions from Mexico

Updated: Mar 4, 2020




I have been to Mexico at least 5 times, mostly to the tourist and beach destinations. Each visit, I explored the town I stayed in and I ate at the food places nearby and each time, I was wowed by the hospitality of the people, the beautiful landscapes and the mouthwatering foods. Mexico has one of the historically richest and most diverse cultures on the planet. The various civilizations and systems that have kept and served the Mexican people for decades are more than just impressive. I am blessed to have seen the remnants with my own eyes.


I also learnt a lot from talking with people who work at the hotels or do business on the street. Some of them told me where they came from and how their foods and cultures differed from what I was experiencing in the hotels and tourist regions. While I loved the tourist experiences, after meeting the locals, I knew I needed to explore more of what this country has to offer. Therefore, I resisted the temptation on my last visit, and instead of heading for the coastlines, I travelled inland to Mexico City and Aguascalientes.


When my friends and family first heard that I intended to visit the dreaded Mexico City, fearful chatter and texts started flooding in. They wanted me to know that "If you are not careful, you could get killed by gangs.", "You can't walk on the streets unattended, it is unsafe.", "Don't drink the water, you will get sick.", "The food is no good, bring your own.", "The place is overrun with poverty." They, like me, have heard the stories that say if you aren't going to a tourist resort in Mexico, don't go. For years, these fears kept me from exploring other parts of Mexico. This time I wanted to face those fears and I decided that even if those parts of Mexico were a travelers nightmare, I wanted to see them.


I honestly expected that when I stepped off the plane, I would be met with a scene from a post-apocalyptic movie. My sense of awareness was turned to its highest and from the corners of my eyes I was on the lookout for thieves, drug dealers and Gang Dons. I was wearing my simplest clothes so as not to attract attention and all valuables were left back at home. Every time someone walked too close to me, I stopped and made sure they saw that I saw them. Paranoia set in and I walked out of the airport on tippy toes, looking like someone trying to break out of prison.



So you can well imagine my relief when I started walking about the city noticing that the people were going about their daily business like anywhere else. Children played as they accompanied their parents and the young people were generally courteous. There were plenty of modern buildings alongside well-maintained historical monuments.  The roads were relatively clean and the street vendors and those using the thoroughfare were friendly and respectful. The foods in the street side stalls and in the restaurants looked clean. Here and there, live bands played music while folks danced. Occasionally, a police or soldier strolled by.  The smells, the sounds, the sights were all welcoming and I was happy to be there.


To be clear, Mexico City is no beachside resort town. Flip-flops, Bermuda shorts and tequila are not frequent sightings. It is a bustling city busy with churning out creativity and productivity. People move by hurriedly to get from one place of business to another. The hustle is real as vendors call out to passing customers. Traffic is crazy with horns honking every now and then. There is a fair amount of crowding but there is also a fair amount of discipline and structure.  In short, Mexico City is a modern day city.


Having said that, I do not believe that all the warnings from my friends and family were lies or unfounded. I am sure that Mexico City, like most other cities, has a gruesome shadow behind all this friendly, uplifting facade. Yet, with prudence, most travelers can enjoy the hospitality and beauty of the city.


After a few days in Mexico City, I flew out to the remote region of Aguascalientes where I tried to get to an even more grassroots experience of the culture. I met some wonderful people who took me around and showed me the best places to eat chicharrons and other local delights. They shared their local folklores and jokes with me and in no time, I felt right at home.





Here is what I learnt about Mexico City, Aguascalientes, and Cancun:


1) There are gangs in Mexico, like most other countries but the gang is not out to get you if you aren't involved with them.


2) You can get by fine on your own, if you exercise caution.


3) Tequilla is not served with every meal. You have other drink options too.

4) Cinco de Mayo is not the most popular festival, the Day of the Dead is.


5) Mexico has its fair share of poverty but it also has many booming industries.


6) Authentic Mexican food is so much better than the fast food varieties sold in other countries.


7) You can find some of the best boots in Mexico.


And . . . well . . . the story about iguanas being everywhere. That's true. There are iguanas everywhere. No. Im joking. Thats not true either. You can see iguanas in some areas but they aren't everywhere. If you are afraid of the reptiles, just tread carefully.



Until next time


Venture Out. Keep exploring. Travel Smart and Stay Safe.


Check out this short clip of Mexican Street Foods


Don't forget to share this post with your friends by clicking on the links below:



Find similar travel related blog posts by clicking here.

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page