top of page
  • Writer's pictureN. Forbes Matheis

My Fascination with Japanese Spirituality



Next to travelling, I love food and sushi is one of my favorite dishes. So I guess I can't start a discussion about Japan before mentioning the quality and assortments of sushi that can be enjoyed on the island. Japan is the birthplace of this exquisite delicacy which has gained international acclaim. But Japan is known for much more than its food. It is known for calligraphy, sumo wrestling, anime cartoons, technological advances, geishas, kimonos, koi fish and kobe beef. In many ways, the island of Japan is the beacon on the hill for present day society. This country sets the trends and stays ahead of innovation, civility and cultural preservation.



It is perhaps no mistake then that 80% of Japan is covered by mountains. To appreciate its beauty, visitors must be willing to strain their necks upwards or embark on a hike to absorb all that this nation has to offer. Of course too, if we can't walk, there are always vehicles to take us from one place to the next. After all, Japan has one of the biggest automobile industries in the world. However, the presence of these mountains is a daily reminder that in order to reach the top, there has to be intentionality, struggle and perseverance.


On my visit to Japan, I went hiking up the mountains in the vicinity of Tokyo city. The topography and scenery of these hikes were breathtaking and the hospitality from the locals left me feeling more welcomed than I have ever felt in any other country. Each person that I met on my journey paused for a few seconds, did a slight bow, and wished me "konnichiwa". The disposition of the people and the beauty and serenity of the environment was enchanting.



However, what really got my attention, as I moved between the city and mountains was Japanese spirituality.

I saw many shrines and temples in the city and had not expected to encounter them on my hikes. But what I began to understand as I moved around Japan was that Japanese spirituality is the basis of who they are. How they think, act, speak, and conduct themselves, flow from a deep place within them. It is not by mere coincidence that their streets are the cleanest I have ever seen in any country or that their food is as healthy as it is. Their dominance in the world of technology is not baseless. Intentionality and emphasis are placed on these things in the same way that they are placed on having good manners, striving for excellence, and practicing high levels of purity and cleanliness. And all these foci are rooted in the Japanese belief system.



Shinto, Buddhism and Confucianism are the main religions in Japan and every step up the mountains contained various spiritual markers to remind me of this. Places of worship lined the trails or were tucked off in caves. sacrifices were placed at various points in honor of the gods. People stood around cauldrons of smoke to cover themselves in good luck and usually at the top of the mountain there was a shrine or worship place which honored their gods and commemorated their ancestors.


I am a Christian, so while I observed the way the people of Japan worshipped through their life style, I never took part in their rituals. Yet, I would be wrong to reduce their spirituality to mere rituals because at core their way of being and existing reflects their spirituality. Religion and life are not separate, they are one and the same. To have life is to be spiritual and to be spiritual is to have and be conscious of life. Of course these are my interpretations and words spoken based on my observations, and locals may chose to differ or even refute my opinions. Nonetheless, it is obvious that a strong belief system undergirds Japanese society.



When I left the country, what stayed with me was the humility, hospitality and compassion that the Japanese people exhibited and the sense of calm and peace that radiated from the mountain tops and throughout the city. I am convinced that when in Japan, Japanese spirituality cannot be ignored. It is everywhere around you and it is vibrant, active and almost tangible. When I breathed there, I knew that I was breathing in an air heavy with spiritual beliefs. When I ate, I was consciousness that consumption had a deeper meaning. When I walked the streets or trails, I was aware that each person I past was in some way interconnected.


You may ask, of what religious persuasion are you? I will tell you. I am Christian.

But I admit that something about Japanese spirituality fascinates me.



Until next time


Venture Out. Keep exploring. Travel Smart and Stay Safe.

Find similar travel-related blogs by clicking here.

Also, don't forget to like and share this article.








112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page