top of page
  • Writer's pictureN. Forbes Matheis

About Voices from the Past

Updated: Feb 11, 2020

I was born in rural Jamaica. As the last child of four and the only girl, I always had my fair share of problems and yet just enough hope to pull through to the next level. God’s hand was obvious in my life from my childhood and although the devil tried to destroy me, God kept me protected. Under God's wings there was always enough hope, enough light, enough of whatever I needed to persevere. Under God's wings is where I grew and continue to grow up.


God's wings know no boundaries; they span everywhere, every time and even beyond time and space. Throughout my life I heard God’s voice in many forms. As I traveled from country to country, I saw God’s grace manifested in new ways. In the midst of life’s torments, I felt God’s embrace providing warmth, chill, affection. When I ventured away from God's wings, I felt that gentle call back to the haven of rest. I have experienced horrible things, I. have witnessed many ordeals, but through them all God made it clear that I was never alone.


As I move forward on life's journey, every now and again I remember where I have come from and the paths that I have walked. Voices from the past beckon to recollect and take stock. There is a great cloud of witness, there are many supporters, there are even those who through their negative voices have pushed. me onwards. All these voices, regardless of their messages, remind me of Immanuel’s constant presence with me.


This blog is about my life journeys; the good, the bad and the mundane. It is about my travels and my love for food. It is about this spiritual journey that God has invited me to walk with Him/Her. It hearkens back to the days in the pit and the afternoons on the sunny banks of the rivers. I walk on knowing that through it all God continues to lead me. Ps. 23.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page